

The Secondary School Student Athletes' Bill of Rights

Help improve the health and safety of our youth athletes

More than seven million high school students participate in athletics each year. These student athletes suffer 2 million injuries and undergo 200,000 doctor visits and 30,000 hospitalizations annually. 400,000 brain injuries (concussions) occurred in high school athletics during the 2008-2009 school year. During the 2011-2012 academic year, 22 percent of injuries suffered by secondary school student athletes were concussions, up from only nine percent of total injuries just six years earlier.

H. RES. 72

- H. RES. 72 contains 10 best practices that any school in the country can implement to make their student athletes safer.
- H. RES. 72 encourages secondary schools to take all available and reasonable efforts to ensure student athlete safety.
- H. RES. 72 is supported by over 120 organizations including the members of the National Athletic Trainers' Association, Youth Sports Safety Alliance, The American Football Coaches Association, the American Heart Association, and the National Association of State Boards of Education.
- There is no cost associated with H.RES. 72.
- H. RES. 72 enjoys bipartisan support and offers members of Congress the ability to raise awareness of the youth athlete safety issue to their constituents.

NATA Recommends Becoming a Co-sponsor of H. RES. 72 by contacting Alexandra Valocchi, Legislative Assistant for Rep. Jim Gerlach at Alexandra.Valocchi@mail.house.gov or (202) 225-4315

For more information contact:

Amy Callender, Director of Government Affairs for NATA, at (972) 532-8853 or amyc@nata.org

H. RES. 72 Co-sponsors

- Rep. Joyce Beatty (OH-3)
- Rep. Timothy Bishop (NY-1)
- Rep. Cheri Bustos (IL-17)
- Rep. Ken Calvert (CA-42)
- Rep. Tony Cardenas (CA-29)
- Rep. David Cicilline (RI-1)
- Rep. Gerald Connolly (VA-11)
- Rep. Ander Crenshaw (FL-4)
- Rep. Rodney Davis (IL-13)
- Rep. Charles Dent (PA-15)
- Rep. William Enyart (IL-12)
- Rep. Tim Griffin (AR-2)
- Rep. Rush Holt (NJ-12)
- Rep. Jared Huffman (CA-2)
- Rep. Mike Kelly (PA-3)
- Rep. Daniel Lipinski (IL-3)
- Rep. Kenny Marchant (TX-24)
- Rep. Mike McIntyre (NC-7)
- Rep. Patrick Meehan (PA-7)
- Rep. Michael Michaud (ME-2)
- Rep. Jeff Miller (FL-1)
- Rep. James Moran (VA-8)
- Rep. Randy Neugebauer (TX-19)
- Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)
- Rep. Devin Nunes (CA-22)
- Rep. Pete Olson (TX-22)
- Rep. David Price (NC-4)
- Rep. Jon Runyan (NJ-3)
- Rep. Aaron Schock (IL-18)
- Rep. Allyson Schwartz (PA-13)
- Rep. Pete Sessions (TX-32)
- Rep. Carol Shea-Porter (NH-1)
- Rep. Adam Smith (WA-9)
- Rep. Steve Stivers (OH-15)
- Rep. Timothy Walz (MN-1)
- Rep. Roger Williams (TX-25)
- Rep. Robert Wittman (VA-1)